Life · Politics

I Don’t Care About Your Political Views

I can’t be the only the person who feels this way. I know it in my bones that there are other people out there. Other people who couldn’t care about what their friends think about Donald Trump and Hilary Clinton. It’s not that I don’t care about the election, I do. I’m just tired of hearing what you all think about it.

<rant> It’s become quite comical. Every time Donald Trump says something inane or Hilary does something illegal, my Facebook feed lights up. It’s times like these where I’m glad I have Instagram to feed my addiction to cute baby pictures and silly videos. It always starts with the sharing of the news article and then your opinion about what is in said article. Nine times out of ten you haven’t even read the entire article and are just going by the headline and if we’re lucky the first paragraph. You believe that someone out there cares what you think, but they really don’t they’re just looking for someone to take out their aggression on and so it begins.

It always starts with name calling which I can’t understand because we’re all supposed to be adults. I don’t understand why people can’t debate anything without resorting to calling someone a name. “I’m not intelligent enough to come up with a reasonable explanation to defend my beliefs, so I’m just going to call you a racist.” When I see those posts I just roll my eyes because the person is probably no more racist than I am, they just differ in opinion from the author and God only knows why but they chose to air their difference of opinion to you. Now the entire debate has devolved into an argument about race relations that started about something that had zero to do with race relations. You know what I’m talking about, those posts that start talking about climate change, and now somehow we’re talking about race.

How the heck did that happen?

It happened because someone started a conversation and had no idea what they were talking about. Then someone with a tad bit more knowledge of what was happening commented and the original poster had nothing to fall back on but name calling as a retort. I’ve seen it happen time and time again over everything from vaccinations to breastfeeding to now, the elections. Which brings me back to my original statement, I don’t care what you think about the current election or any other current event. I know what my political leanings are, and I don’t need to share them. It’s immaterial to me how many likes I would get as a result because regardless of what you think, my opinions won’t change. That’s what it means to be an adult; it means going out on your own and deciding for yourself what your values are. It means not changing just to follow the herd or get more likes. It means standing for your beliefs even if you’re standing alone. It also means that you and I can disagree and not only remain friends but be able to have a conversation about it without it ending up with hurt feelings and someone being called a racist.

Everyone wants to know how did we get here? How did we get to this point in our history where the Country is heading straight towards the fires of hell? Some would argue lack of religion, morals, divorce rates, and a whole host of other things that have nothing to do with it at all. I blame one thing and one thing alone, we’ve changed. We went from a society that stood for something, no matter what it was. Everyone didn’t know how their neighbor felt about EVERYTHING, and it seems that that ignorance was indeed bliss. Politics and religion were once taboo topics for dinner conversation and everyone stuck to the pleasantries of human discourse. Now we sit behind the anonymity of a computer screen, and we feel it gives us the right to say anything we want without repercussions especially if the target of our ire is sitting 1500 miles away in Duluth. Words hurt, whether they’re written or said, whether the recipient is a friend or a stranger. Maybe the world wouldn’t be as vile if we weren’t so horrible to one another online. Maybe we should spend more time using the internet in a positive way like cultivating friendships with people around the world and broaden our minds by learning about those different cultures. Instead, we use it as a tool of virtual harassment and hate speech.

Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t hate people, and I don’t hate Facebook. I love the people that follow me, the friendships I’ve cultivated with people I’ll never get to meet, and the friends I’ve been able to stay in touch with that I otherwise wouldn’t be able to. What angers me is when I see those good people, the people out there standing for their beliefs, even if they stand alone, get vilified for having the balls to give a shit. We all don’t have to agree, this isn’t middle school anymore people, we can agree to disagree. It is possible, I’ve seen people do it. We CAN all get along because it’s not about what we believe it’s about how you treat the person regardless of what they believe. </rant>

 

6 thoughts on “I Don’t Care About Your Political Views

  1. You know, I think you’re onto something regarding the time when people would never talk politics or religion at dinner, or with the neighbors. Now, we can call anybody we want to in the whole world stupid from behind a computer screen without ever really knowing what they’re saying. Gah. I actually do care a little about what people think but would NEVER engage on FB because OMG.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. These are different times, aren’t they? Friends on FB post things that interest me and things that do not. We remain friends. Social Media is a way of tapping into news stories from newspapers that those who live in rural areas may not read….like the Washington Post. We can’t keep our heads in the sand. If someone’s posts offend you, block them until after the election, but t over all, I think the more we now the better prepared we are to vote.

    Like

  3. We are more than cooks and housecleaners. We have minds. We have rights. More women need to speak out, discuss with each other, and run for public office. Do we see where we are in this political mess? How can we stand by and say nothing? If you think cooking up a new recipe is more important than what is bubbling over in the political pot today, maybe you are limiting yourself. I cook, I clean, I discuss politics. Because I have a perspective I think is worth sharing…just like my recipes.

    Like

Comments are appreciated!

