Music

Break Up Mixes

Until you find the “one”, there are going to be a lot of break ups. Every once in awhile a song will come on the radio that reminds me of the end of a relationship. I’ll pause for a minute and remember, sometimes with fondness, others with a “what the hell was I thinking dating that guy” response. Either way, the song and that person are forever melded as one. Here are a few of the songs that remind me, for better or for worse the path I took to today.

1. Shania Twain – When

How are you going to celebrate Valentine’s Day with someone, buy them a gift and then break up with the next day? I got the Come On Over CD as a gift and the entire album just reminds me of how crappy people can treat each other. I listened to this song on loop, it was my We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together before Taylor Swift was out of her nappys. Wow, that sad to think about.

2. The Cranberries – Promises

I was so pissed off after that relationship ended, I didn’t date for an entire year. I would often think back to that year of not dating and say it was the best year of my life. Sometimes, at certain points of your life, all you really need are some good friends.

3. Matchbox Twenty – If You’re Gone

I had this sent to me on a tape, I never responded. There are times that no matter how sweet the sentiment, it’s just too far gone.

4. John Mayer – St. Patrick’s Day

This happens to be my favorite John Mayer song, it also reminds me of the last time I saw someone. Some moments in your life are so vivid that you can go back in your mind and relive them as if you were still in that moment, forever on repeat. The outcome is always the same.

5. Mindy Smith – Hurricane

I truly believe that Mindy Smith wrote the soundtrack to my first marriage. Her music comforted and soothed me on many on night. I listened to this song a lot.

6. One Direction – Story Of My Life

“I leave my heart open but it stays right here in its cage”, lately I’ve been thinking about the story of my life. The path that I’m on is not one that I’m happy with but such is life. Nothing remains the same and life pushes forward.

Comments are appreciated!

