Life

Summing Up 2014

As years go, 2014 was horrible. The only good thing I can say about it was at least no one died. It’s pretty sad when that’s the best thing you can say about a year in your life.

Relationships are hard work, or at least that’s what I’m told. I don’t think it should be that hard. You meet someone, you fall in love, get married and live happily ever after. That’s not what happened for me. I know it happens to some people, I’ve seen it, I know it exists. All I can say about it is, “thems the breaks kid.”

Don’t take that to mean that my entire 2014 was horrible, there were definitely some high points. I got to spend some extra time with my extended family that I would have never had the time to do. I went to Blog U and met some amazing writers who inspire me to up my game every day (check out my blog roll for their sites). I was also published in the book, Motherhood May Cause Drowsiness and the soon to be published Surviving Mental Illness Through Humor. As far as writing goes, it was a very good year.

The downside to having such great highs is that they often get downplayed by the immeasurable lows of the year. It cuts through the happiness of any situation, making it bittersweet and leaving that nasty taste in your mouth like only bittersweet chocolate can do. (I swear that stuff is nasty, I don’t know how people eat it?)

As much as I would love to share all the details with you of what made 2014 so awful, I can’t. I really wish I could because I think it would be cathartic to get it all out but instead, I’ll let you in on my year through song. A song can convey an emotion sometimes better than words, especially when the lyrics, the voice and the music all blend together to create something soul shattering.

Here is my 2014 in song:

1. Gary Jules – Mad World

2. Maroon 5 – Misery

“So scared of breaking it, that you won’t let it bend. Sometimes these cuts are so much deeper than they seem, you’d rather cover up, I’d rather let them bleed.” Sometimes, two lines in a song can speak volumes.

3. Passenger – Let her Go

This song is true about a lot of things in life. You never miss them until they are gone.

4. Jasmine Thompson – Wrecking Ball (by Miley Cyrus)

“Never meant to start a war, just wanted you to let me in and instead of using force, I guess I should have let you win.” This song is so beautiful, it’s a shame Miley had to sing it. I found a version that did the lyrics justice.

5. A Great Big World & Christina Aguilera – Say Something

The first time I heard this song I was sitting in a parking garage getting ready to go in for a job interview. I had to stop and listen to it because it was just so beautiful and by the end I was weeping.

6. Rhianna – Stay

“Funny, you’re the broken one but I’m the only one who needed saving.” That’s a powerful line, I wish I had wrote it. Sometimes we live so long behind the mask of everything being all right that no one really knows that inside you’re crumbling.

7. O.A.R. – Peace

Such a beautiful song, accompanied by a simple yet lovely video depicted the spring, summer, fall and winter of a relationship.

Lastly, this is my song going into 2015. Whenever I’m down and need some picking up, I put this song on as loud as I can, almost like a battle cry.

One Republic – Counting Stars

2 thoughts on “Summing Up 2014

  1. Wow. Just wow. I am sorry things are happening in your world that are not happy. It sounds trite to say, but I am. I am glad that music helps though, because as all of us who love music know, it really really does.
    I hope things are at least looking up or in the past now… or enough in the past.
    If you keep spinning the music, I’ll keep listening!

    Like

Comments are appreciated!

