Poetry

Waxing Poetic

Spring is in the air. Even as I look around me and still see a city covered in snow, it’s beginning to melt. Maybe my feelings will go along with it.

I love spring, I don’t love the allergies that are sure to come with the arrival of spring but I’m happy to get out of the dead of winter. My life of late seems to follow the seasons. Making it through the winter seems to take on a whole new meaning. Spring is coming and along with it, renewal and rebirth. 

I was laying in bed last night and I started writing this poem in my head. I don’t usually write poetry. It’s not that I don’t like it, it’s just that I don’t think I have the talent for it. Here it goes anyway, I’m getting out of my comfort zone and writing some poetry. I promise it won’t rhyme.

There are nooks and crannies in my heart where I walk and find you there.

You look just like I left you, contrite and full of foreboding.

The end, inevitable as spring rain.

It washes away all our hopes and dreams, making way for new ones.

Singular hopes, small victories, tiny heartbreaks.

The lesson learned and held steadfastly.

I will never break again. 

The summer will come again and as it warms the ground, it will defrost my heart.

Like the earth, dig deep enough and it’s still cold, never completely thawed.

That’s what life does to you.

That’s what love does to you.

A thousand mini heartbreaks.

They lead you to realize that the warmth of summer may be just enough to get through the long winter.

 

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Comments are appreciated!

