Music

Top 10 Songs of 2013

It’s the time of year when your TV becomes inundated with countdown shows, all featuring the top “whatever” of 2013. The problem is, they’re always wrong. They use some retarded ass metric like number of singles sold to come by what they believe are the top songs of the year. I’m going to do my own list based on the quality of the music only. Please feel free to share your thoughts.

 

10. Radioactive – Imagine Dragons


This song must have been used in every TV show this year to make it seem “edgier”. It reminds me of the scene in a zombie movie when all the stuff hits the fan.

9. Home – Phillip Phillips


Phillip Phillips has two songs on my list. This was the stand out artist this year for me instead of Florida Georgia Line. I have to admit i like the band name but that’s about it, FGL is overrated but that’s just my opinion.

8. Blurred Lines – Robin Thicke


You really didn’t think I was going to get through a list without this song on there. It was the song of the summer and had so many parodies, it had to make my list. I don’t care how many times I hear it, I still sing along. My favorite rendition is the Jimmy Fallon version with the school instruments.

7. Ho Hey – Lumineers


Jimmy Fallon did a parody of this one as well with chickens, it was spot on. My husband loves this song, it took me awhile to warm up to it and it definitely deserves to be on the list, it’s just not my favorite song of the year.

6. Gone, Gone, Gone – Phillip Phillips


I’ve feature this song on my blog a few times. I love the song and i love the message. It’s something that gets lost now a days when people are so often considered easily replaceable. I wish we could go back to the days when it was customary for people to mourn for a year before they were even allowed to come back into society. Maybe we would value human life more.

5. Mirror – Justin Timberlake


I’m going to be honest, on the whole I thought his album this year wasn’t all that great. It was passable. I just figured with all the pomp and circumstance there was leading up to it that this was going to be a musical tour de force. It was not. This one song, however was the bright light at the end of a musical train wreck tunnel.

4. Two Black Cadillacs – Carrie Underwood


Normally, I’m not a Carrie fan. She’s had a few good songs and she’s got a great voice but her albums are always hit or miss for me. A few good songs surrounded by crap. I would love to see her go into a studio for a few years and really wait for all the great songs to come to her and just belt out 15 awesome songs. It would really do her career justice.

3. Try – Pink


I really don’t need to give you a reason why this song is on here, Pink’s writing is phenomenal. She has more lyrical talent in her little finger than most artists today have in their whole entire bodies. “We’re not broken just bent.” She captures relational issues perfectly.

2. When I Was Your Man – Bruno Mars


This man knows how to make an album, every single song on the album was fabulous. My favorite was NatalieΒ but of the singles he released, this one was the best.

1. Mama’s Broken Heart – Miranda Lambert


I think my favorite artist of the last five years must be Miranda. Her albums are all well put together, every song lyrically and musically perfect. This one is no different and has to be by far my favorite one she’s done.

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 thoughts on “Top 10 Songs of 2013

  1. Michelle this is an awesome list and kind of like a Best of Everyone’s mixtape from 2013. I know it hasn’t been that long since you’ve been playing but I am SO happy to have met you and to have you on board! However, you’re gonna be in trouble since we are doing “best songs of 2013” in a few weeks…. gonna have to put your thinking cap on! (or just repost, I won’t tell anyone πŸ˜‰ )

    Like

Comments are appreciated!

