apps

Mommy 911

Last Christmas the husband and I decided to take all five kids to Philadelphia to visit my brother and his family. We usually take these trips in the summer. It’s easier because we don’t have to pack half the house when we go but we decided to do it just once while the younger kids were still little. It was a trip we will never forget.

Getting there was fine, the weather was okay. Sometimes I still marvel at the stark contrast in weather patterns once one crosses the Mason-Dixon Line. We’re only about two and half hours away but it feels like we go from mild to arctic tundra once we cross over. (Maybe I’ve been in the South too long). We had a wonderful time with my brother and his family and we were even blessed with snow on Christmas Eve. The day after, when we made our way back, was what made the trip unforgettable.  It’s started to snow and not just flurries but a blizzard of Biblical proportions. We had gotten too far down the road to turn back, our only choice was to plow ahead. First the kids got whiny, mostly because they were hungry. Then they were whiny because they were bored. They were tired of singing, listening to the same songs repeated on the radio (when it came in) and playing spot the (whatever) color car just wasn’t going to work in the storm. The trip took 7 hours to complete and the Hubby and I felt every minute of them. When I was contacted by Sarah with Mommy911, the first thing I thought when I saw it was, “Man, I could have used this last Christmas”!

What is Mommy911? It’s an app that arms you with the tools you need to get through the day. Think of it as your big box store for parenting. I love when I can get everything I could possibly need in one place. That’s the real appeal of big box stores because their prices really aren’t all that low. We’re all busy parents and being able to go in and shop for birthday presents and the meal at the same time is just too good to pass up. Around this time of year, I need all the help I can get and Mommy911 is that help.

The Internet contains a vast amount of information, every time I turn on the computer I’m bombarded with it. When the kids are bored and I’m lost for ideas, I go to Google and search for something new for them to do. When I’m tired of always cooking spaghetti when I can’t figure out what to make I go to Google. The problem with Google is this, too much information in too many places. I have to click on a billion different pages to get what I want. I don’t have time for that. I have to download ten different apps to do ten different things. I don’t want to do that either.  Wouldn’t it be awesome if it was all in place?  Evidently, I wasn’t the only person who thought this way.

To keep the kids busy.

That’s what makes Mommy 911 awesome, it gives it to you all in one place on your phone just how I like it. The first thing that grabbed me was the ease of use. All I have to do is point and swipe. If I’m in the car with the kids and we’ve exhausted “This is the song that never ends”, I can open up Mommy911, click on Imagination Boosters – Travelling Activities and get inspired. When it’s sleeting, like it was here last week and the kids had off from school, I click on Stuck Inside and swipe through the many ideas for kids and parents to pass the time so they don’t get cabin fever.

There’s even a section called Creative Discipline that gives you different ideas when time-out and taking away privileges stop working. When it’s time to eat, you’re covered there as well. Breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack ideas are all there at your fingertips. You don’t have to worry about what you’re going to make because Mommy911 has nutritious, kid friendly meals just waiting for you on your device.  If you’re like me and you need a little extra help all year-long this time of year, grab the Mommy 911 app and let it do the work for you.

Check it out here:

http://mommy911app.com/

On iTunes and GooglePlay

Enhanced by Zemanta
Comments are appreciated!

