twisted mixtape

Pill Poppin' Momma

When I read the theme for this week’s Twisted Mixtape, I didn’t know where to take it. I had to put on my thinking cap. I don’t just love you, I’m addicted to you is the theme. The first song I thought of was Robert Palmer dancing with those chicks with the red lipstick on in Addicted to Love. That’s not where I want to go with this Twisted Mix Tape. Have you ever loved something so much you abandoned all good reason?


People who have suffered through any kind of substance addiction know what I’m talking about. Yes, food is a substance. Addiction is the continued repetition of a behavior despite adverse consequences. (You can thank Wikipedia for that definition.) So yes, when I get that Red Velvet latte from Dunkin’ Doughnuts or Carmael Macchiato from Starbucks even though I know an hour later, I’m going to have the trotts, that’s addiction. When I gorge myself to the point of popping because I’m so gluttonous I must have another fajita because it just tastes so damn good, that’s addiction. I’m not saying all this to make light of “real” addictions. All I’m saying is that I can understand an addict’s need for another hit when the pull of a latte makes me lose all sense and good reason. All that said, my twisted mix tape is all about the addictions but not to love.

Oasis – Champagne Supernova
 
This song asks the proverbial question, “Where were you while we were getting high”? I would argue that I was there and you were just too high to remember that fact.
 
 
P!nk – You’re Just Like a Pill
I love how Alecia writes her lyrics. Anyone who’s taken pills knows you pop one and then thirty minutes later that coolness spreads over you like a warm blanket and you’re in the land of f*** it all. You walk that very fine line between making yourself feel good and making yourself very ill. Relationships are like that. When you’re with someone who isn’t good for you, you walk that fine line between feeling good and feeling sick. I sent this song on a mix tape to an ex once after we broke up many moons ago. He was just like a pill too.
 
Rolling Stones – Mother’s Little Helper
I remember when I first heard this song when I was a teen. I liked it, but to me it just sounded like more old people complaining about how us kids were ungrateful. I didn’t get the song at all. You know when I got it? When I became a stay at home parent. Then I could totally understand every single stinking line in the song. Some songs just take a while to click..
 
Black Crowes – She Talks to Angels
There’s always been a special place in my soul for this song. I say my soul because some songs just touch you deeper. Everyone has a different opinion on what this song is really about. To me, it’s a song about a young girl with problems who grew up to be a woman that tries to hide those problems now so she can function. She might do drugs, drink or even be a cutter. She’s doing what she can to make it through the day and when, “she talks to angels”, she’s praying for help, something just to get her through life.
 
Pistol Annies – Takin’ Pills
I love Miranda Lambert, I think she’s the most honest song writer in country music today. She doesn’t mind poking a little fun at herself or life in general. I’m so glad I discovered her other group, Pistol Annies and I hope you will check them out too.

 

 
Check out the tapes here:
My Skewed View

 

10 thoughts on “Pill Poppin' Momma

  1. You make some really good points here Michelle. I really liked what you wrote about a how relationships can mean you walk a fine line between feeling good and feeling sick. I am working on a novel in which the main character eventually realises she has been addicted to a man who is harmful to her. It is very common I think! I am listening to the Black Crowes song as I type – I had not heard it before so thanks for introducing me!

    Like

  2. That's where my story, Things of The Past that I have posted chapter by chapter on here started from. The kind of pain that can only come form being infatuated with the wrong man. I wrote that story while I was a college student. Thank God my writing has matured (I hope) since then. When you have free time you should check it out.

    Like

Comments are appreciated!

