twisted mixtape

The Most Wonderful Time of The Year

No, I’m not talking about Back To School season, I’m talking about Christmas. It’s that time of year when I can get away with belting out the Christmas music on the drive to the Supermarket. These are the songs that I just can’t live without during the holidays.


Gayla Peevey – I Want A Hippopotamus For Christmas
Upon hearing this song I’m transported back to a better time a simpler time that only lived in the stories told by my grandparents. A place where there was no such word as “selfies” and Instagram might have been a subsidiary of Western Union. Those were the days…
 
Harry Connick Jr. – What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve?
Since the first time I heard this song, I fell in love with it. Harry’s velvety voice just wraps around you like a warm blanket on a cold winter’s night. What am I doing this New Year’s Eve? I’m going to NYC to watch the ball drop for the first time. 
 
Harry Connick Jr. – The Happy Elf
You would think I liked me some Harry or something. lol I love this song and the kids get a kick out of it. It’s always on loop in the car or at home. It’s one of those songs you can’t help but dance around the tree to.
 
Mariah Carey – O Holy Night
This song brings to mind the Midnight Masses of my childhood. Sitting in the pew holding candles and listening to the Cantor sing O Holy Night. Mariah, Mariah, Mariah! Lawd have mercy that woman can sing. When she belts out “Fall on your knees”, her voice will bring you down to you yours. It’s not Christmas unless I hear this song at least once. 
 
Enya – O Come O Come Emmanuel
First of all, I love anything written in a minor key. It expresses a depressed longing that you just don’t get in a major key. Try writing a depressing song in D, closest I can to is Pachelbel’s Canon and that’s only depressing for people who don’t want to get married. Anyway, Enya is the only one who does this song justice and brings me back to Advent masses with my mom, sitting in a cold church, impatiently waiting for Christmas and Communion so we could leave.
Mariah Carey and Whitney Houston – If You Believe
This songs brings a tear to my eye and warmth to my heart every holiday season. “There can be miracles if you believe, hope is frail but hard to kill”. It gets me every time. 

 

Last but not least, not all Christmas songs are awesome. Some you remember because they are just so God awful that they become the joke of the holiday season. It’s really not officially Christmas until I’ve heard this song on the radio, at least once.
Dan Fogelberg – Same Old Lang Syne
 
Merry Christmas To All and To All Happy Listening
Check out the other mix tapes here.

My Skewed View
7 thoughts on “The Most Wonderful Time of The Year

  1. Brilliant list Michelle. I Want A Hippopotamus is always on rotation over here as well as The Happy Elf!And I know someone else had O Come O Come Emmanuel, I first heard that song on a Veggie Tales Christmas movie, I know.. But man did it stick with me, it really expresses it just right, doesn't it?I love your list 🙂

    Like

Comments are appreciated!

