Family · NaBloPoMo · thanksgiving stories

Ghosts of Thanksgiving Future

I often daydream about my future self. I know why I do this, it’s because my mother didn’t live into old age. Around the holidays I get future nostalgic for the things that have not yet come to pass.



I remember Thanksgiving when all of us kids were out of the house. I remember my grandparents and mother getting excited for us to come back home. It was wonderful to feel that I was so wanted somewhere. In some ways, I long for the days when all the kids have flown the coop and it’s just me and the husband. I can see myself running around trying to get everything perfect for when all my chickens come back to the nest.

This is what I see when I think of Thanksgiving future…

Colin or Conner will be the first ones to arrive. They’re always so prompt and Colin’s need to always be first he would try to beat his twin, Quinn back home. Quinn will most likely still live with me in a basement apartment.We joke all the time that he will never want to leave. We are attached at the hip right now, he loves him some Mommu (Quinn’s word for Mom). Between Bryleigh and Haileigh one of them will show up some time before the Black Friday sales start. They are both chronically late for everything. I can see them all, grown up and sitting around my table talking about all the stuff we are doing now with them. The memories that will take with them from their childhood into adulthood, that one day they will wax poetically about in the days when I am no longer here. I see them how my brother, cousins and I were, joking around and teasing each other. The fights we had over rolls and who got the wishbone.

In my increasing age, when I look back on childhood holidays, I remember the fun times. I don’t remember the food or the presents. Not even the ones I had to have at the time. What I do recall is my brother playing Monopoly with me until I fell asleep at the table and then carrying me upstairs. Playing games with my family and everyone accusing the other of cheating. Even though no one ever did. These are the stories I tell my kids and these are the things we do now. I would hope that sometime, sixty years from now when my children are old, they will tell their kids and I will live on in their stories.

This Thanksgiving, step out of the kitchen or pull them into it. Find ways to make it a family day. You never know what events of today will become the happy memory your child lives on tomorrow. 

Happy Thanksgiving to all and to all a good night!

P.S. This turkey looks decidedly better than mine.

2 thoughts on “Ghosts of Thanksgiving Future

Comments are appreciated!

