Food · NaBloPoMo

Hmm Soda

I must confess. I did it. I really had no choice at all.

It was one of THOSE mornings that was quickly becoming one of those days. The boys have colds so they’re miserable until their PediaCare kicks in and the dog barfed in the middle of Bryleigh’s bed. I was batting 1000 before the clock even struck 9AM. I quickly fed the boys and while they ate I wrote some emails I needed to return. I had laundry to do, a house to clean and dinner to plan. Before I did any of that I had a bunch of errands to run. Once the boys were done, I strapped them into to the van and headed out.
 
I usually eat breakfast. Anyone who knows me can attest to the fact that I believe it’s the most important meal of the day and my favorite. This past week, I haven’t been eating it. I’ve been forgoing that meal to write or do chores and by the time I look at the clock, its lunchtime. Today, was no exception. I finished up at my last stop, Wegmans, when I started to feel a tad woozy. I knew my blood sugar level was going wonky. I needed to eat something and soon before I got dizzy and passed out.
 
About five minutes down the road, there it was in all its over processed glory, McDonald’s.
In our house, fast food is a treat. It’s for birthday dinners or when we’re on the road travelling and need a quick bite to eat. When the boys saw me pulling into the drive thru they went bonkers. I felt bad. I should have went home and made them their all natural PB&J sandwich that’s High Fructose Corn Syrup free. Instead, they got nuggets and fries with Apple juice. I figured that if I was going to eat this for “breakfast” I might as well not pussy foot around, I got a Big Mac. I can hear my brother now, “I can’t believe YOU ate a Big Mac for breakfast”. Yes, the woman who reads the labels of everything she puts into her shopping cart and takes two hours in the grocery store as a result, just ate a Big Mac. I even washed it down with (dare I write that four letter word) soda. Yes, I drank a Coke. I will regret it later but yes I drank it. It was that or faint. I needed the sugar however fake it was. Just for the record, I hate Coke. They need to start selling Pepsi Throwback.
 
This “incident” was a reminder to me that I need to take better care of myself. Running myself ragged isn’t getting the job done anymore. By the time I got back to the house, I felt blah. It’s how I normally feel after eating fast food and chugging down a soda. I had no energy to do anything but sit in front of the TV and vegetate. The chores were never finished and the rest of the day was given up to watching Turbo for the 20th time and Jobs. So lesson learned, I will eat a proper breakfast from now on.
Comments are appreciated!

