NoBloPoMo

Starting The Impossible:NaBloPoMo Day 1

Lao Tzu had it right when he said, “The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step”. In my case, it began with a single blog written on hot as balls day in August.  It was short, sweet and to the point. It was my jumping off point. My Declaration of Independence from boredom and depression. I was going to take “me” back one blog at time. Seventy posts later, I feel like I have created something that is unique and special, almost like another child. 

Then, a challenge, I love a good one. National Blog Post Month. One post, every day for the month of November. I wanted to rise to the challenge. I wanted to do it and do it well but I thought, I’m a new blogger. Sometimes I struggle to think of three posts a week. Sometimes life gets in the way and then I thought of Maria Kang and her picture taunted me. “What’s your excuse?” Well, what is my excuse? I could say I don’t have time. That it’s just too hard and that ultimately, I’m just that lazy. I could argue with myself over the fact that no one would want to read my mediocre musings for 30 days on end. All those would be are excuses and we’re not making them anymore are we Maria Kang? So it became my battle cry and then I saw Braveheart running through a field in my head yelling, “Blog On”, instead of “Freedom”. That was enough to get me to sign up and since I’m insane, I signed up at BlogHer and Yeah Write.

To the winners of NaBloPoMo ‘13 go the spoils. The lucky winner of Blogher NaBloPoMo ‘13 will receive and iPad Mini and two passes to the BlogHer ‘14 conference. Which I would die if I won because not only would I love an iPad mini (I know my Hubby hates Apple and he would just die but oh well) but I just want to go to the conference and winning a ticket is the only way my family of 7 self is going to be able to afford to go. That said, Yeah Write’s prizes are equally appealing: Stephen King’s On Writing, Anne Lamott’s Bird by Bird, The 2013 Best American Essays, The 2013 Best American Short Stories, The 2013 Best American Non-Required Reading, The Art of Possibility by Rosamund Stone Zander and A basket of your favorite non-perishable goodies from Trader Joe’s. The aspiring writer in me just had an orgasm. If that isn’t an incentive to write every day, I don’t know what is. While winning a prize would be awesome in and of itself, the real prize is rising to the challenge. Doing something that four months ago I would have looked at myself in the mirror and said, “what the hell are you smoking, you can’t even poop alone. How are you going to find time to write that much?” Like all parents and spouses do, we find the time. We stay up later, we get up earlier and we have that fifth cup of coffee or in my case, pop a B12. Whatever it is we want to do, we find the time to make it happen. If only to prove to ourselves, we’re still here, we still have our dreams, we still matter.

To all my fellow bloggers out there, the ones I have had the pleasure of meeting and the all the ones I haven’t, good luck to you. Happy National Blog Posting Month. Blog on!

 

12 thoughts on “Starting The Impossible:NaBloPoMo Day 1

  1. Thank you for the words of encouragement. I have never blogged that much either. I usually take a break on the weekends to compose thoughts and do things with the family so it's going to be a challenge but I am looking forward to it. Good Luck ladies!!

    Like

  2. I can totally relate to the fear/anxiety/dread/thrill combo, but after doing it last year, I'm here to tell you it was a FANTASTIC experience. You'll love it, hate it, and ultimately really love it. Enjoy!!

    Like

Comments are appreciated!

