50 Shades of Grey · Movie Reviews · Movies

50 Shades Of Huh?

I know that everyone who has heard they news from E.L. James today that the main characters have been filled, is upset right now. I really don’t have the foggiest idea why. As I have said many times before and I will say it again for everyone who hasn’t heard me the first thousand times. No established actor will touch this movie. It’s not because the book was bad or because the script is bad (which I don’t know, it could be). I read the book, it wasn’t horrible, just not my genre. I am, however, looking forward to seeing it pulled together on the big screen.

I know you all  who read the book fantasized about their favorite actor playing Christian Grey. Anyone out there remember 9 1/2 weeks? This is the same thing. Who really heard of Mickey Rourke before he did that movie? He was around but movies like 9 1/2 weeks and 50 Shades are career makers. Established actors don’t need these movies, these movies need them.

That said, Charlie Hunnam looks the part. When I was imaging what a “Christian Grey” type was, he’s pretty much what you would get. While I don’t watch Sons of Anarchy, I do remember him from Cold Mountain. He’s a good actor, he made me hate his character which was what he was supposed to do and he did it well. He’s pretty much been an action movie guy so this will be a good chance for him to show his range.

Dakota Johnson, the spawn of Melanie Griffith and Don Johnson. I hope her acting ability is better than her parents. I’m just wondering if Dakota can pull off the naïveté of Ana.  She needs that innocence that Alexis Bledel can just pull off by breathing all the while maintaining that same “it” factor that her mother had in her heyday.

I’m not writing this movie off because of the initial casting announcement. Not by a long shot. I would like to see who is going to be a part of the supporting cast, especially Ana’s best friends. Just think Twilight. Robert Pattinson was in Harry Potter before Twilight now look at him. Let’s give them a chance, shall we.

Comments are appreciated!

