Batman · Entertainment · Movies · Superman

This Looks Like A Job For Ben Affleck?

I have to admit, I’m not a big superhero fan. More specifically, I hate Superman. I know that’s going to offend a lot of my comic obsessed friends out there. There it is. At least I’m honest. I have three sons so Spiderman has grown on me. My youngest is the Incredible Hulk and I’ve always had a liking for the X-Men and Batman (mostly the Joker though). Superman, however, I could always take or leave.

Those that know me know that I absolutely hate all things Ben Affleck and Matt Damon. My secret nickname for them is Ben A**crack and Matt Demon. I absolutely refuse to see any movie they are in and it’s been that way since Good Will Hunting and Affleck’s Gigli fiasco. I have many reasons for this boycott, way too many to go into on a blog. It would read like the Communist Manifesto. I will be honest, I did rescind this boycott for one movie, The Talented Mr. Ripley and that was because 1. it was a date so I wasn’t paying and 2. Jude Law. Other than that, I have held stead fast to my boycott.

Then yesterday, the news that Ben Affleck was going to play Batman. Say it ain’t so. Are you serious? I have never read so many angry Tweets, blogs and Facebook postings since the Paul Deen fiasco. People are hot, to say the least. While I may not be an avid fan of comic book super heroes, I’m a little hot over it too.

Batman like Superman has had a history of wonderful actors portraying the character and like 007, I don’t want to see that history sullied by Ben A**crack. You’ve had Adam West the originator of the role in the 1960s. Then Michael Keaton in the late 80s and early 90s. These were the movies that introduced my generation to Batman. He was followed by Val Kilmer in ’95. Even though Val Kilmer may not be the best actor in the world, he did a good job as Batman. Who can forget George Clooney in 1997? He was a perfect fit for Batman & Robin. Most notably and the best of all of them, Christian Bale. The Dark Knight is the best super hero film ever made, the end. Now we’re going to follow that list when Ben Affleck, seriously you must be kidding. If it was April 1st, I would think it was a joke.

If you’re going to do a Batman vs Superman movie, please get Christian Bale. If he can’t do it, then by God wait til he can. I would have rather had Jake Gyllenhaal, at least Prince of Persia didn’t flop. It would be nice for once if Hollywood listened to the people who are buying the tickets, we don’t want Aflac (not a typo), recast the role.

Comments are appreciated!

