Cooking · Family Dinners · Food · Picky Eaters

What's For Dinner?

Everyday around four in the afternoon, I text my husband.

“What do you want for dinner?”

“idk”

“What are you in the mood for?”

“idk. Whatever you want is fine.”

After getting this response, I usually take matters to the older children. To which they usually respond with pizza or Chinese food. Rarely do I ever get any requests for anything I have made except for my oldest daughter who tried to persuade the younger one that macaroni and cheese is a food group that should be consumed at every meal. Needless to say, I’m plum out of ideas. I tried to do the Rachel Ray’s  365 Days: No Repeats cookbook. Day 3, and I was done. Most of the ingredients you couldn’t find at the market. Now, granted at the time we were living way up in the mountains so the odds of finding Chipotle peppers in Adobo sauce was slim to none. Also, the odds that my picky eater Colin was going to eat whatever those said peppers were in was also slim to none.

I was once again faced with cooking one thing for the kids and another thing for my sometimes foodie husband and myself. I am lucky in the sense that my older children will eat anything, even sushi which surprised me. The younger set is very hit or miss. Sometimes I can get all three of them to eat without having a standoff at the dinner table. The nights when that doesn’t occur, I write down exactly what I did that got Colin to eat so I can replicate it later. We all know as moms that that never works when dealing with a toddler. What they eat today he will most likely make the gagging face when he eats it tomorrow. Much to my frustration.

So today as per my routine I text the hubby.

“What would you like for dinner?”

“Cheeseburgers”

“Ok” This is what I text back in my head I’m thinking, Why do you always ask for stuff I don’t have in the house?

Odds are whenever he actually comes up with an idea, we don’t have the ingredients to make whatever it is he’s in the mood for in the house. Today, was no exception. We had no hamburger buns, no hamburger, no pickles, no mayo, and no mustard. Astonishingly, we did  have the cheese and ketchup.

After a few minutes go by, I tell him we don’t have all the ingredients to make burgers and I have to go to the store and he tells me never mind and now he doesn’t know what he wants. Maybe, today I was feeling especially snarky but finally I had enough. My response text was this:

“I will just cook and you all will just eat it.”

“Sounds good to me.”

Comments are appreciated!

